The Octagonal stone schoolhouse was built in 1826 by Benjamin Gilbert to serve the community that was developing around Rouse’s Mills on the Boquet River. The small, one room school, contains many original features. It was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1973. The building is currently owned by the Town of Essex. Historic Essex (aka the Essex Community Heritage Organization or ECHO) has helped the town maintain the building through donations, volunteer work, and grants.
Restored over 20 years ago by Essex Community Heritage Organization (ECHO) and the Town of Essex, the roof of our iconic Boquet Octagonal School House is in need of a more permanent solution that will ensure its legacy in our community for years to come.
The cedar roof is past its 20 year lifespan and it deteriorating. Faced with harsh winters, UV rays, and wind, leaks are damaging the original plaster and significant parts of the school’s structure.
The time to act is now!
$50K Goal for Boquet Schoolhouse
For more information, visit the Heritage Center located at the corner of Route 22 and Elm Street in Essex, NY.
Checks can be dropped off at the Essex Ice Cream Cafe, the Heritage Center, or mailed to PO Box 250, Essex, NY 12936.
Checks can be made out to ECHO, RE: Boquet School House Project.
- Harmon Noble Schoolhouse (www.essexonlakechamplain.com)
- Old Brick Schoolhouse (www.essexonlakechamplain.com)
- Union School (www.essexonlakechamplain.com)
- Doodle Essex, New York Architecture: Beta Edition Launched 8/2 (www.essexonlakechamplain.com)